Back to the Cinema

There was another film on at the Belmont I thought I would like to see, The Darkest Hour, so I had another trip to the Belmont Cinema today. This film is about the period in 1940 when Churchill replaced Chamberlain as Prime Minister. The main story line is Churchill's state of mind in these few days, and whether or not Britain would negotiate terms with Germany.

Between the film I saw yesterday I much preferred "The Post" to "Darkest Hour". Both portray historical events, Both probably include events that never happened which are dramatised for effect. There is about thirty years between the two periods depicted. It feels as if it is much more. Perhaps "The Post felt like it had an end, whereas "Darkest Hour" illustrates a beginning. Perhaps "The Post" was just more dramatic.

The weather for today, I think it must have been quite wet overnight, but today there was not a cloud in the sky, there was a very strong wind for much of the day, and it felt very cold.

No cinema for me tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.