The dropped stitch

By Bodkin

My (very own) ferry

Gale force winds forecast today. The local radio was speaking of ferry delays and cancellations, so I was doubtful whether I'd make it to Wyre on a planned work trip. 

With fingers half crossed, (perhaps a cancellation would be for the best?), I set off early and in the dark. There was lots of water on the road, so the drive took longer than usual. 
Then, surprise number 1: the ferry arrived.
I asked the ferry worker, 'Will I be able to get to Wyre today.... 'and back?' Although the wind was whistling round our ears, he seemed a little puzzled at my question. 
Surprise number 2: 'yes!', was the answer.

And so it was, after dropping others off at Rousay, the ferry took, just ME, (and 2 mail bags), to Wyre and then, about an hour later, came back and collected just ME waiting at the pier.

So easy, so efficient. In no time I was back on the mainland again,
impressed, and fairly delighted with my morning's ferry experience.
 
Wyre is one of Orkney's smallest inhabited islands and has a population of just 7. Must return in better weather for a proper look round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.