Tuftybanana'spics

By tufty

Holiday?!

Ok, this one isn't so much about the picture per se, more about the subject...it's a holiday offer in a small travel agent's window display near my house. I've never seen anything like this ever before, and certainly wouldn't have predicted the emergence of this line of tourism. For those of you unfamiliar with the Hungarian language and who might not be able to make it out, it's offering a trip to Kiev and Chernobyl. Yup, that's right, Chernobyl! What's on offer:
"Abandoned buildings untouched for 20 years, now reclaimed by nature"
"Semi-completed reactor,a ghost town, and some villages where the evicted inhabitants have returned"
The last sentence has me baffled:"I would never want to see another sight like this anywhere, and there's Kiev, just 100 km from here..." Doesn't seem as upbeat as the rest of the ad'! For those of you who are interested, it works out as £374.23 for this trip of a lifetime (which it might well prove to be), plus the flight. Chicken, as I am, I wouldn't touch this one with a nuclear control rod, but if anyone does go...send a few snaps, eh?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.