CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Chris on his Norton Commando

I was asked to represent the Town Council at an awards presentation today, relating to the regeneration of the canal crossing at Wallbridge in Stroud. The Campaign to Protect Rural England (CPRE) in Gloucestershire presented their five annual awards for improvements to the rural environment.

The event was held at Highnam Court, close to Gloucester, which is a large mansion built in 1658 after the original house was seriously damaged in the Civil War. It is one of the few houses built during the Commonwealth period. It is set in large grounds with formal gardens, lakes, farm land and a mansion.

One of the other winners was the project to rebuild the ancient Mickla clapper bridge, near Alvington, in the Forest of Dean. As I was leaving, I chatted to Chris King, the stone mason, who had rebuilt the bridge and who ridden up from his home near Taunton in Somerset. He told me how chuffed he was that his work was being recognised and appreciated, and how they had gone about the restoring the bridge which had been washed away in a bad storm. I am intrigued by clapper bridges, of which only a few remain in Gloucestershire. They were often the only way that pack horses could cross isolated streams in the countryside.

While he chatted he was putting on his leather motorcycle gear and said that before going home he wanted to go and see his bridge for the first time since he had rebuilt it, and particularly how it was coping with the large amount of water that would be flowing under in given the recent very wet weather conditions.

I then left and drove to the entrance to the estate to see if there were any interesting views of the lake and the many carved wooden sculptures dotted about the grounds. I took a few pictures, but I prefer this picture of Chris riding away on his obviously well loved Norton Commando 850cc, setting off for the open road, to see his creation, and dressed in classic style. When I used to ride motorcycles, this Norton was one of the dream machines to my mind. I envy him, and admire his work. He was extremely friendly too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.