Low Key Morning

I stumbled out onto my front verandah to be greeted by a cool mountain mist and near silence ... aside from some noisy birds here and there. A low key morning.

It was Australia Day today and all around the country people were awakening to an earnest catalogue of "be Australian" clichés. Compulsory items might well have constituted beer, a barbecue, a backyard cricket match, a skin cancer session on some beach, a good deal of flag waving and lots of assorted noise. (sigh)

My generation had been brought up to a tradition of respectful apathy as regards Australia Day. I'd sometimes be mildly surprised to find that a couple of days ago it had been Australia Day. "Really? That's nice ... I suppose". Personally I am a great lover of tradition. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.