Fare thee well, my bonny lad

The thoughtful Mr Dave alerted me to an image on Twitter of the Burns statue having been yarn bombed (stripy socks and scarf!) so I dashed out to get an appropriate image for the great man’s birthday and my 3000th consecutive blip. Either someone stripped him very early on or more likely it was an archive image, so here you have him in his natural state, gazing south down Constitution Street. When we first moved down to Leith I wrote a song about this statue, come to think of it!

In the evening we went up to the West End to meet up with Q and friends for a meal in something called Forage and Chatter. Hmm. It was good to catch up with Q, though.

I haven’t got time to write an essay on Blip, or to pay tribute to the many delightful journals that I follow, or to thank the many friends I have made via this site. Very glad we’re all still here though (well most of us, but remembering some sad losses like Molly in Tuscany and AirborneSkyGod). And even though we communicate less than we did in the early days, we’re still “excellent to each other”. Thanks, Joe.

Hey, bring on the purple camera!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.