Driven to drink?

I think I know how that feels after the day I have had / am still having.

A routine errand was meant to take about 45 minutes. Two miles from home, I stopped the car at a red traffic light and unfortunately the van driver behind me didn't stop. There was a bang and my car lurched forward a few feet. 

I got out of the car to inspect the damage and, since we were on a busy road, I suggested to the other driver that we move the vehicles round the corner to a side road. It was only when we had both done so that I discovered the van driver was both deaf and unable to speak to me. I felt incredibly sorry for his predicament, especially since I had to ring the number on the side of the van (his employer) to find out all the details my insurer would need to know.

It is amazing how complicated life became for the next couple of hours, culminating in a trip to collect a hire car for use while our car is restored to its five-year-old best. The Friday afternoon traffic was rather busy as I made the trip in an unfamiliar car (which has bells and whistles in places where my usual vehicle doesn't even have places!).

It's now time for rest and recuperation - so maybe there will not be a lot of blip activity this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.