post run necessity..

..if you don't want shoes full of grit next time.
Today was the annual Devil's Burdens (if you want to know more about the name then you'll have to look it up!) relay race from Falkland, over the Lomonds and back to the village. 4 legs and I was on leg 4 which meant a lot of waiting before the start. The last 3 years I did leg 1 which is fairly low level whereas leg 4 is 2 and a bit miles uphill (>1000ft climbing and no chance to get going as it's steep almost at once) then a mile and a bit down. My legs didn't want to go up but they were happy with the flatter bits and the down and the wind was so strong on top of the hill I couldn't stand up straight! Was happy enough with my time and the team did a great job.
I took a camera to get some pics whilst waiting but both batteries I had were flat, I usually make sure at least one is okay, so the only pic is of the shoe clean once home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.