Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Fathers vs Sons

My first holiday home after a year and having survived the record 1962/3 winter in Europe and above all the UK. Quite a shock to a Trinidadian.

Almost at the bottom of the garden was the company's cricket ground with a rather grand two-storey pavilion with all the facilities to make tea and all the other things that go with a days cricket.

It was the fathers against sons match. Not sure who won but I managed to get a ball bowled directly on my forehead. And the bowler? Yes of course. father. It was part of the tradition that fathers bowled against sons and vice versa. I remember it hurt but of course, had to do everything possible not to let it show.

The cricket ground was hardly ever used for the purpose. more as a place to run around with dogs, fly kites etc. It was the place I first drove a car or better-said vehicle. It was my father's short wheelbase Land Rover with a canvas rear. He was often in the bush (jungle) with his 3-man team surveying the land. Sometimes they were away for days and had to use the Land Rover as overnight quarters and kitchen.

The Land Rover has (had?) the facility/ability to put it in low ratio first gear, then hop out and it kept on crawling along. That's what my father did with me as I couldn't get anywhere near the pedals.

I am sure I was terrified but then afterwards extremely proud. Over the years, he helped improve my driving skills on the countless private roads in the area. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.