Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Power Women

Alice our cook on the right ran our household, a lovely funny woman. I have described her more fully elsewhere.

Alongside her, Doreen who was a very quiet, sensible, intelligent and slightly shy young lady. I don't remember how long she was with us, responsible for washing and some of the cleaning. I suspect she found a job somewhere outside the camp and am sure she made a great success of her life,

In the photo, they are up at the BP company guest house, helping out for the visit of a company VIP from London. My mother managed the unit for several years.

Often I would cycle up the steep hill to the guest house to visit my mother and was always spoilt rotten by the kitchen staff who would give me a large glass of ice cold sugared water used for cocktails and then a with a splash of red sweet syrup from a jar of sweetened cherries and if lucky a couple of cherries.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.