and through the wire...

By hesscat

Lonesome Dreams

It feels like aaaaaaages since we've been to a gig... in fact, woah, almost 2 months... well it's January and as usual it's Celtic Connection in Glasgow.

This was a birthday present for me, Lord Huron, a band I happened to come across at the Green Man festival in 2015. I think I remember lazing on the grass, on a sunny day, listening to their folk/rock/lonesome cowboy themed dreamy sounds and I was hooked.

Usually Celtic Connections events are attended, in the main, by 30+ ages, at least the ones we go to, but this one had a real mix of all ages... there was maybe a 70 year old man at the front with a bunch of late teen-girls behind him, oldies (yes us), middles and young were everywhere... I don't think I've seen such a mix at any gig. 

About 6 months ago we caught Ms H listening to them and her being surprised we already liked them... one of their songs had been on a Netflix series that had attracted a lot of attention (about a girl who took her own life) and the song was used in a key school prom scene... and that appears to have brought the band to the attention of the young ones!

Which is great!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.