Big Hill

By bighill

Explorations....

I'm now exploring pastels....god i love this medium...no brushes to clean after, no wasted paint, and i can leave the image for as long as i like and return without worrying that the paint has dried. Also made the connection that they feel like clay in my hand!!!!

I'm not giving up on oil, i love the medium and had a wonderful time last winter exploring some of the characteristics! but i'm now getting ready for my 'down' time after christmas....and i'm loving some of the results you get with pastels.

Here is a link to one of the many wonderful pastel artists i've been looking at Marla Baggetta . I love her use of colour! So today i found myself looking for compositions rather than images that work just as a photograph. Not that this is a new area for me, i've always been concerned with composition, but i found i wasn't too worry about the light and shadows of the image, just concentrated on a pleasing composition...

It has been a very grey day here, flat, steely light....but at least it wasn't raining!

Our new wwoofer, Eva, arrived today...she seems lovely and very energetic! this is a very good thing...we have lots for her to do!!

Terry is preparing a very large omelet for dinner cos the girls are laying way too many eggs!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.