Undercovercairo

By Undercovercairo

Sheikh Jaber Al Ahmed Cultural Centre

The Sheikh Jaber Al-Ahmad Cultural Centre, informally known as the Kuwait Opera House, is a prominent cultural center in Kuwait, located on the Gulf Road in the capital Kuwait City.

And so I came for a wander this afternoon. While I didn't get to go inside any of the cultural buildings I enjoyed watching the dancing fountains, with accompanying stirring music and had a late lunch in one of the many cafes set around the perimeter of the small man-made lake. Unfortunately it was a little breezy, but having made the effort to get here, I stayed. With the exception of the mainly Philippine waiting staff, I was the only non-Kuwaiti here, discretely (with my blonde hair...) observing what is going on around me. Unlike Egypt, I don't experience much, if any harassment in places like this. Sometimes in the street I'll get a honk from a passing motorist but not much. Thankfully.

I'm waiting for lunch, and I think it's going to be excessive quantities again. Bread and dips have arrived to accompany my sandwich and fries...

And after my Danish for breakfast, I was asked if I wanted dessert...

Looking forward to coming back and seeing the fountains at night when we get lights too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.