Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Paquebot Flandre

Not a strange French-Dutch-Flemish-Belgian sport but a Passenger Steamer, the history of which is shown on yesterday's entry.

Trophy won by my father on the trip from Trinidad to Southampton, no doubt for deck shuffleboard. He was good at it even if he probably only played every second year. Part of the entertainment offered on board.

My father was not an athletic sportsman. Not sure if I ever saw him run and if he ever jogged, it was no more than the 20 metres between two cricket wickets. He was though a very keen tactical sportsman: golf, tennis, table tennis, probably marbles too. He would drive me crazy in my youth, always winning with his spins and sly moves and that long after I physically had the advantage. When young it troubled me but then in later teenage years made me smile at his skill.

The 20cm (8") pot is silverplate but there are three little stamps on it: "8G" in a square for amount of silver in grams,  "OW" for "Orfevrerie Wiskemann" seemingly the maker in Brussels and a "+" in a square which I can't find any info on. It is heavy 560g (1.23 lbs) possibly with lead in the base. Probably the reason my mother used it for displaying fresh cut flowers. The water levels are very visible on the inside.

Well, I bet my mother enjoyed the trip. My Dad and I no doubt anxious to get off but my mother enjoying the cruise and food.

27 years later I was to enjoy a cruise on Canberra.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.