Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Starstruck...

at my age!

A few years ago a bloke by the name of David Bowie played at Bridlington Spa, it was in the days when he threw his wrist bangles / donuts out to the audience. I couldn't go -no money- my friend was there, she got her prize...
Envy is a bad thing, I was very envious of her for many years.
Some years later we went to see Mick Ronson and Ian Hunter at Leeds Town Hall, we waited outside for the band to leave and I touched Mick Ronson's hand... didn't wash my hand for days.
Since then I've been lucky enough to see
Bowie play about five times,
Zappa twice,
Kinks once,
Dr Hook thrice,
Police once,
Dire Straits once,
Nottinghill Billy's once,
Monkees once,
Baycity Rollers once,
Status Quo once -that be one two many!
Deep Purple once,
Elkie Brooks twice,
Jools Holland twice,
Dennis Locorriere twice,
Leo Sayer once,
David Gray once,
Bob Dylan once....Blackbushe 1978
Graham Parker and the Rumour once,
Joan Armatrading once,
Paul Carrack once,
Bruce Springsteen once,
Bryan Ferry once,
Millie Jackson once,
Stephane Grapelli once,
George Melly once,
Martin Taylor twice,
Gary Moore once,
Gary Brooker twice,
Georgie Fame once,
Alan Price once,
Zoot Money once,
The Blockheads once,
Ringo Starr twice,
Phill Collins once,
Eric Clapton...........can't remember how many times.
Cream once.
Andy Fairweather Low and the Low Riders twice, tonight being the second time.


Why star struck?

To be in the presence of such superb musicians is a true joy, one that at times brings tears to the eyes, the thought that these guys play to massive audiences when they are doing their day job of being session musicians to the likes of Clapton and Tom Jones -name a name and they have probably been on stage with them- and here they are playing to 200 Pock peeps.

I had a teenage moment and needed to tell *Mr Dave Bronze how much the evening had meant to me...he kissed my hand...... swooooon.

Edit...
Forgot to say that we got drunk in our local pub with Suggs a couple of years ago, but then I guess most peeps that meet him do that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.