Big Garden Winter Birdwatch!

A quiet start to my hour of birdwatching, hardly a bird in sight. Then the reason became very apparent, see my first extra! After the Sparrow Hawk’s departure, the birds started to come back; 18 species in total but low numbers of each, wondering if the gusty weather had anything to do with it. The two Bullfinches were a lovely surprise, but not as big a surprise as my second extra! Have no idea where the Partridge came from (especially as I don’t have a Pear Tree!), but I do remember a neighbour telling me before Christmas that she’d also had an unexpected Partridge visitor. He spent a couple of hours exploring the garden before flying off (with some difficulty) to pastures new. So my tally for the hour is as follows:

Robin - 1
Blue Tit - 3
Great Tit -2
Dunnock - 1
Goldfinch - 3
Chaffinch - 2
Blackbird - 3
Starling - 4
Sparrow - 12
Bullfinch - 2
Blackcap - 2
Magpie - 1
Crow - 1
Jackdaw - 2
Collared Dove - 2
Wood Pigeon - 1
Sparrow Hawk! - 1
Partridge!! - 1

Couldn’t decide whether to use Billy the Bullfinch or Percy the Partridge as my main blip. Photos taken on my new camera (a present last year from my brother, that I’ve had for 7 months & not used before as I don’t like it, it’s now packed away back in its box). Accidentally changed a setting on the camera and the files are tiny and grainy, so disappointing, it’s not every day you get to see a Partridge in your back garden! (But seeing as they were taken from the comfort of my indoors armchair, I suppose they’re not bad.) This Christmas my brother gave me my Blipfoto membership fees so I’ve just paid up, and now can bore you all with hundreds of extras!! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.