si_b

By si_b

RPS Street Photography Workshop - Spitalfields

So, I spent Saturday on the above mentioned course in London with Simon Ellingworth ( and fellow blipper Chantler63 ) attempting to learn some street photography skills ...

600 images later ... some skills learnt, but mostly unsuccessfully applied.

The course took us around Spitalfields Market and down Brick Lane - an area of London that I'm not familiar with. That in and of itself was fascinating as only London can be. I came away genuinely exhausted and creatively drained - I slept very well indeed !

A majority of the photos taken were anonymous - but I really have to call out the portrait that you can see in the extras of the gentleman in the cap. He is "Ray of Light" and he, himself, is a photographer too - but his story is far more interesting than mine - I won't repeat it here - but you should read the following where all will be explained by other people:

Artnet
Chris Haddon

You can buy a copy of the calendar discussed above here.

I had a great day, and learnt a great deal - however, I am a very, very long way off being comfortable still !

Apologies for the lack of comments & replies so far - yesterday was out all day, and today has involved heavy culling of 600 photos to get to here (8pm !) I'll catch up with you all soon !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.