Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

Fleshing out the bones......

......did a bit more research on my great uncle Joe this morning (read 'grilled my Ma via the telephonic device over a pot of coffee';-)).....apparently in the 30's/40's he became part owner of a drift mine near Haltwhistle along with his Dad (yet another Joe, as a family we're a bit boring/repetitive in the 'given' name arena!) and 'Porky' Thompson.....too small to be nationalised (that would be the mine, not Porky!), it carried on being worked until sometime in the 50's.....suffice it to say it didn't make any of them millionaires! Then I remembered that Gt Uncle Joe's wife Ruth had given me and the late hubby a rather magnificent hand-tatted doily as a wedding present (bottom left, taken in low light.....so that doubles as a weather report!).....all in all, it makes you realise it's 'good to talk'!!

It's also made me realise that I need to do some serious work on sorting out my Ancestry family tree.....it's all over the place!

EDIT : Just added extra of possible site for that mine after another mothership telephonic grilling!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.