bulliblips

By bulliblip

feeling ranty

I am flummoxed by school at the moment. My daughter is 5 and each week at home she is required to do number bonds (I didn’t even know what they were), punctuate and copy sentences and complete maths questions including addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. She has no concept of what division is and the first question that came home was 25/5. She also has to learn ten spellings - this week’s include dinosaur, astronaut and author. I’m flabbergasted on her behalf. She regularly uses words like “fail” when doing her homework and is genuinely frightened of getting it wrong.

What the heck is happening and how do I respond? I’ve talked to the school and send written feedback each week but I’m losing patience. Utterly bonkers. I would like to stop her doing it but she gets worried by that idea. I’d also like to sabotage the work and have her write out “This is ridiculous. I am 5 years old and want to play.”

And she didn’t even understand what this week’s sentences meant, although she did know how to add punctuation.... but what an odd exercise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.