Caythorpe Church

Today I was off work so a nice lazy start to the day. I was very pleased I didn't have to go out 1st thing as it was very windy and the rain was coming down very fast. Thankfully it calmed down and became a nice day. 
I dropped Jae's car off at the garage for him as it had a couple of things that needed sorting out as agreed at the time of purchase. 
The main reson for my day off was to take Zeph back to his place of work after his winter break. 
He works near to the village of Caythorpe so I decided to park the car up and take a few photos of the church there. 
It is a grade 1 listed building St Vincent's is only one of four churches in England dedicated to Vincent of Saragossa. The church is noted in particular for its double nave (one of only four existing in England ) . In the 11th century there was 2 churches listed in the 1086 Domesday book. This one survived and was completed in the 14th Century.On 30 December 1859 lightning struck the church spire causing the upper portion to fall through the roofs of the chancel and transepts. The spire was rebuilt in 1860 by George Gilbert Scott, the Gothic revival architect. Its height, which was shortened by 10 feet (3.0 m) At the same time a north aisle was added to the nave to a Scott design. More of my shots can be seen HERE for anyone who is interested 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.