Loro Parque

I donned my wet weather gear for today's visit to Loro Parque, which was just as well, as it was the wettest day so far! The Parque was opened in 1972 originally as a parrot park, with 150 parrots, but now has over 4,000 parrots of 400 different species. It also has a wide variety of animals, including orca whales. There is a Foundation in place to highlight the need for conservation of nature and the environment, and there are currently 82 projects in 28 countries throughout the world. I have to say that I am generally not in favour of zoos, but this place certainly had my respect for the care and attention to the animals, and the whole area in general, just fantastic.

Am adding a few extras, from 150 taken, which take time to upload, including one taken this morning from my apartment...the volcanic mountain I visited last week, now snowcapped and -8C !!!!.......

Thank you again for all the generous comments and stars :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.