Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Hip Blip

A bit of an unusual blip for me but it marks my visit to hospital today to have a steroid injection in my left hip.

I’ve been experiencing quite a lot of ‘bother’ with it lately and it’s had a fairly rapid decline over the last few months, to the point where I’ve been struggling to walk, in pain and, increasingly, exhausted. I’ve had to stop carrying my camera with me on a daily basis, as the weight has been too much to justify schlepping it around all the time. Hence, most of my most recent blips have been taken on an iPhone.

The injection has already relieved the pain considerably but I’m still limping a little as I try to ‘relearn’ how to walk properly, and to trust my left leg to bear weight again.

However, this is only a short-term solution to what is going to be an ongoing problem. So, at some point over the next year I’m going to have a hip replacement, which I’m apprehensive about in the immediate term (mostly because it’s going to be massively disruptive and inconvenient) but which will doubtless improve my quality of life hugely in the longer term! And I’m looking forward to that, for sure!

For now, here’s my thigh, marked-up to ensure the injection was administered to the correct hip!

And here are The Tragically Hip with ‘Ahead By A Century’ https://youtube.com/watch?v=QE2joQsWXJg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.