Raspberry Sundae.....

......just adore the name as a northerly wind whips round the house and I sit here and sizzle!

One of those hosta's I fell in love with the name and had no idea what it would be like, let's say I'm not disappointed. 

It has gorgeous small unusual raspberry-red stems, flower stalks and buds are raspberry-red as well, leaves with irregular green edges with cream centers and deep lavender flowers which bloom from mid to late summer, now that's some punch for a slow growing hosta.

I've had it for three years and it only has four leaves, yes it's very slow growing, well in my garden. Each season I wait in anticipation for more leaves to arrive :)

NZ is getting a hammering from ex Cyclone Fehi, there are many areas which have been affected, declaring states of emergency. Here in North Canterbury we're waiting for the southerly change to arrive bringing much needed rain and cooler temperatures. The wind is playing havoc with my eyes even though I've only been outside to bring in the wheelie bin, collect the junk mail, take a blip and bring in the washing. There are cabbage tree leaves everywhere, perhaps a job for tomorrow.

Keep safe, cool or warm :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.