nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

No carbohydrates were harmed in the making of this

Looking back over my old blips recently before re-entering the fray I was surprised at how many of them were of food, or the preparation of.  Perhaps because I had often gone through the day without anything blip-able and had a sudden evening panic.  The place I lived in back then had a south-facing kitchen and good lights which made things look a lot more interesting.  My kitchen here is still pointing in the same direction but the window must be smaller than before, plus I only have 50% of the available light bulbs working, so food rarely looks photogenic.

Macaroni cheese seemed to be a popular feature; these days I am 'low carb' mostly so none of that sort of thing.  I tried this way of eating to help longer bike rides, as the alternative seemed to be the constant consumption of sugar, which I had no desire to do.  I've managed to do 100 km before any food, and a 200 km with some lentil soup and nuts, but also I've been able to embrace the sandwiches and cake associated with such exploits knowing that they will soon be gone and my body now knows how to use its (generous) fat store.  I also find this works for me day to day; on a work day I don't eat anything until lunchtime, then dinner is a considered affair rather than something I'm desperate for, and I don't get any shaky/need to eat moments.

This is relatively easy to sustain as a single person, although it is more expensive than having half of every meal as pasta/rice/potatoes/bread, which we are accustomed to in the UK.  Also I really like really good bread, and I like making it.  So that has become a bit of a luxury.  But being with others it could become a trial; over Christmas most things seemed to be based on breadcrumbs.  I only survived that because we ended up eating so frequently.

Anyway, this is one of those never-to-be-repeated meals, because you'll never have those same random things in the fridge at the same time.  Cavil nero, already-braised fennel, haloumi and cannelini beans held together with a yogurt/egg mixture.  I'm calling it a gratin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.