Adverts from 1900.

 Sorting some old books I came across this page of adverts in the 1900 "Child's Companion" I can remember my mother using Stedman's powders for my baby brother, one remedy that didn't contain morphine or opium, unlike many other 'cures' The following were listed under 'Mother's Friend'......Cocaine toothache drops, Mercury and chalk purgative, Laudanum, an alcoholic tincture of opium, Chloroform for babys colic and cough mixture, which would ensure mother got a good night's sleep. For fevers the medicine was diluted sulphuric acid mixed with Peruvian bark, the raw source of quinine. Dr Collis Brown's 'Chlorodyne' for various ailments which contained cannabis and morphine. Most gripe waters had a good slug of alcohol in them .I remember seeing Collis Brown's cough mixture in Boot's the chemist.  I have been resting a strained knee today which I damaged when I bent down to pick something up and twisted instead of turning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.