Idina Menzel - legend

First thing today I had to nip down to Morecambe for a client meeting. The weather in Morecambe was WILD (unlike last time I was there when it was lovely) and the sea was blowing up over the promenade. Back in the day I went to Morecambe to look at the coastal defenses for my A-Level geography. I guess this was what they are there for.

Back to Edinburgh quick sharp as Cyclops and I had tix to see Idina Menzel in concert at the Usher Hall. What a legend Idina Menzel is, star of Broadway (and latterly the West End) and most famous for her roles in Rent and Wicked. I love Wicked, without wishing to get too mushy the story and the songs really speak to me. So it was very exciting to see the original Elpheba sing Elpheba's songs. Oh yeah, and she's in Glee too as the main character's mother. Don't forget Glee.

The real highlight for me was of course Defying Gravity (I cried, that song makes me cry) but I also liked the other show tunes she did. Unsurprisingly for a Broadway star she has a really lovely voice for show tunes. Very clean and effortless and engaging.

The concert was lovely though, Idina seemed so pleasant and amusing and the audience were very enthusiastic. More than that, actually, they were close to hysterical in their adoration in places. Muchos whooping and screaming and multiple standing ovations. I'd never really seen anything like it, it was like she had Justin Bieber standing behind her or something. Well as I say - legend.

I enjoyed it lots.

We were in the cheapiest of cheap seats and it all went down very well for us. Our pals were down in row D and they said that the sound wasn't great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.