Through these eyes

By kwdiane

Well, I wasn't expecting that...

I saw what I thought was a pheasant on the path in front of me on my walk this morning, so I crept up to it (pheasants usually go into a panicky flap as soon as they spot you).  However, this one didn't seem at all concerned and as I got closer I could see that it wasn't a 'normal' pheasant at all.

I've looked it up and it appears to be a Reeves Pheasant which is native to China. Its on the endangered list as there are less than 2,000 of them left.  It's a bit of a mystery as to what it was doing on a path on the edge of Delamere Forest in Cheshire!

A few have been introduced to Europe as game birds, so I can only assume it has escaped from somewhere. I have never seen another one and there was no sign of it when I came back along that path later on.

I have added a colour extra so you can see it in all its glory.

Mono Month Challenge 2018 - Day 2

Thank you all for your generous response to my giraffe yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.