Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Snowdrop Hunt

Checking the weather forecast I realised that if I wanted a day out with the camera, this was probably the best day. So I headed down the M3 / A30 to Mottisfont Abbey.  There was the promise of snowdrops and an exhibition of Heath Robinson art works.

I was surprised at how popular the exhibition was, and had to queue for 15-20 mins to visit.  In the 1930s, Heath Robinson became known as "The Gadget King", and he is most widely remembered for his detailed drawings of eccentric, over-complicated contraptions. But he was also a talented painter. The exhibition covers all aspects of his works, but I was most impressed by the exquisite pen and ink drawings for Shakespeare's Midsummer's NIght Dream and similar.

As for the snowdrops, these were to be seen in abundance along the walks by the River Test, which flows through the estate. So I had no trouble in finding a subject to today's Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.