The pope's bridge

I heard a funny story about Benedict today.

As I trotted off on my run this morning I stopped to chat with 2 sisters who own retired greyhounds. They're beautiful, gentle boys always keen to have a pat and head scratch.

They told me that recently as they walked past my place on the path across the road, they met Benedict on this bridge. And Bene wasn't going anywhere.

They stopped a couple of metres from him unsure what to do. Neither greyhound reacts to Bene. I've never seen any excitement and even Benedict doesn't get excited in their presence.

But he wasn't moving anywhere and held his ground.

"What did you do?" I asked.

A weary day for Dad where small efforts left him feeling exhausted. He liked the bridge story :-)

Today's gratitude: For feeling fit and strong.

"We crossed the road and used the footpath. We weren't sure Bene would have a go at us, or bolt across the road, into the tussocks".

So my little pope stayed firm on his bridge and watched them. I'm sure he loved every minute :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.