Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Making Chunky Marmalade

This year, I felt like making marmalade and every time I make it - I forget how much work it is and how I need to do it in three different stages!  This year, I wanted to make it with less sugar and only used half the amount of sugar from the usual recipe. I had to boil it for quite a bit longer for it to set, but the result is delicious and those slices of peel nice and chunky as I like them!  There's nothing quite like marmalade for breakfast! But perhaps you prefer porridge or pancakes or even a smoothie?!

Seville oranges: scrub them and clean with plenty of water, simmer gently to soften in a couple of litres of water. Allow to cool. Cut oranges into quarters and into nice chunks, boil the pips and flesh to extract the natural pectin, make the marmalade with as little sugar as possible. Add a knob of butter to reduce the scum or foam. Cook until a wrinkle forms when pushed with finger on a very cold saucer. 

Are you coming to enjoy breakfast with me on Sunday?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.