Green Door

Click here for an explanation of the title.
 
That was a mean trick. I’m sorry for all those around you, human, cat, dog or budgie, who now face six hours of your humming. The song is two years younger than I am and has generally been a source of happy times for 60+ years. In contrast to the misery, I bring!
 
Today is very special. My son-in-law and my son both celebrate their birthdays today. Very special people and what is especially nice, they get on like brothers. Sadly distanced by the Irish Sea. In fact, son J will be in Dublin shortly but due to Barry’s other commitments, they can’t meet up for a pint of Guinness.
 
And today I was at Kelly’s Irish pub in Memmingen. Outside only though, as I had to pick up my fail or pass notice following the “German Language Test for Immigrants” that I did on 15th December. On that day I had Bliped the interior when I sought lunchtime refuge during the day-long test. The “Volkshochschule” adult education centre and Kelly’s are neighbours.
 
As mentioned on Wednesday, I had totally messed up getting the notice. With head bowed low and mumbling apologies, I entered the office. The search through the alphabetical pile of paper correspondence seemed to be taking ages. I feared I had been disqualified on grounds of Guinness doping. They asked, “What date was the test again?” ……. “Ach ja, da gibt es Probleme!"
 
Oh no. We had been warned that the test marking process included the seating arrangements being documented and cross-checked to see if there had been any “looking-over-the-shoulder” cheating. If so, all 50 candidates would be disqualified.
 
Turned out that the examination board in Frankfurt has been overloaded and the results still not issued. Relief and return of frustration over the entire process. They promised to phone me when it arrived.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.