Bindweed round hogweed

I had a busy morning's report writing (a deadline is looming so this will now be a daily occurrence!) before a routine trip to the dentist. Thankfully all was well - I think I was in there for less than 5 minutes! Then on to Sainsbury's to stock up for the weekend...

The day had dawned wet but by lunchtime it was warm and sunny, so the dogs and I headed down to the river for a walk. When we arrived I was surprised to see water pouring over the weir into the rowing lake - I hadn't realised that we had received so much rain overnight! I suspect that the downstream sluice may also have been tidelocked, causing the water levels to back up.

The dogs and I backtracked and took a different route down to the river. Most of the path was fine, but it was quite exciting to walk beside the swollen watercourse, which was lapping at the edge of the path and flowing extremely swiftly. There was just one short flooded stretch where I had to make a detour onto a slight bank and then jump across a low-lying grip, but I scarcely got my feet wet!

The autumn colour is increasing, and I photographed vivid red guelder rose berries and golden cherry leaves. But this twining stem of bindweed, backlit by the autumn sun against the brown river, captured my heart today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.