Normal is Good

Stricken with that dreadful flu virus my mother fainted (we think) and fell in the kitchen, 15 January. She broke her leg next to a previously replaced hip joint. She was transferred to the large hosptal for the Highlands, Raigmore in Inverness, and after much debate among the medical staff about the best course of action has had major surgery to repair the damage.
While the communication about her post hospital care has not been clear at times the staff looking after her day to day have been kind, caring and supremely professional. 
Today she was discharged and I was able to collect her. A nurse kindly helped to transfer her from a wheelchair to the car. I was nervous about the journey. It typically takes 90 minutes.and I was worried in case there were delays or if she was in such discomfort  that I needed to stop and rearrange cushions or adjust the seat. She had requested I take my Dad's car which is much lower than my own. (My Dad would normally have made this journey but he is also still weak with the flu effects. They have both had the flu jab too).
To my pleasant surprise, she remained quite comfortable in the car. We had a good blether and she related stories of the other patients and staff she had befriended. It was a beautiful, clear bright day coming down the Great Glen and she enjoyed the car journey. As you would imagine I was driving with utmost care to avoid harsh braking or road bumps.
It was a relief to arrive at the garden gate.
It is quite incredible that less than two weeks after the injury my mother has the ability to move around the house again with a walking frame.  

Mrs SJR has been very supportive to my parents -and me- over this last while, regularly preparing meals and running errands and other jobs for my Dad.

Arriving home, there was just sufficient light to give Archie and Caley a wee stretch at UI. If you have food, shelter and your health and can open  the door and walk up a hill with the dog then you are lucky, Normal is good and we should appreciate it if so blessed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.