Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

My pals

Mum with Errol (sadly I'm not 100% sure if the name is right) our so-called "yard boy" and Alice our cook.

Errol although a bit older than I was, would often try to help me out with things I would be involved in outdoors. Keeping my bike going etc. but we also got on great. It was difficult though for him as he only came up from the village each day, had his duties to do: some in the house, the heavier work like polishing the wooden floors, vacuuming and then outside, watering the garden, cutting grass, trimming shrubs and cleaning up around and under the house. He was to break his leg next day and so we didn't get much chance this holidays to spend the few moments he had free, together.

Alice Bourne seemed to have been in my life ever since I can remember. She had a difficult life, living at our house but having her own family in the next village, Palo Seco. I don't really remember as it would have only been a quiet adult talk between my mother and Alice, but I think the relationship with her male companion was "difficult". My mother tried to help wherever possible.

However, my mother had hired her as a young girl and spent a great deal of time helping and training her in all the kitchen duties, dishes etc required in a European household. And Alice bloomed, increased in confidence and took on the role of "Chief of Staff". She gained respect and a high reputation amongst the Beach Camp communitý, both from the "colonial masters" and her own peers. 

We also had a young washing lady and presumably part-time nanny in my younger days, living at the house, but that fell away in time to an elderly part-time lady who also lived in but wasn't quite so involved in daily life.

Alice was my most important ally and friend. She would comfort me when I was sick or being scolded by my parents, made sure I got my favourite foods and drinking enough liquids.

She also had the most wonderful laugh and a very good sense of humour as well as a kind of innocence that made for the most amusing incidents. A few are recorded in my diary.

Such an incident and connected with her status as Chief of Staff and a senior in the community: She had to tell Errol off for something one day and said something along the lines "Now, black boy, get your act together......." There was no racial meaning whatsoever meant, it wasn't even an expression ever used by the "whites", it was simply a means of her showing her authority.

And of course, if you look at the skin colours in the photo, the remark gets even funnier. Errol was from an Indian background while Alice had Afro-Caribbean roots.

I loved dear Alice and highly respected this very good, God-fearing woman. I would love to know what became of her.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.