Arachne

By Arachne

Footlights

Peter Shaffer’s play, Amadeus, was first performed at the National Theatre 39 years ago. I missed it. Then I didn’t see the film because I wanted to see the play first. It had an extremely well-reviewed revival last year and again I missed it but several months ago I bought a ticket for the 2018 run. For today.

From what I’d heard, the plot was a controversial exposition of Salieri’s jealousy of Mozart and ultimate poisoning of him. Not to me it wasn’t – it was about the anguish of trying to coming to terms with realising that you are ‘mediocre’, that your (God-given?) gifts are not exceptional, that your name will not outlive your life. It was about living a life poisoned by jealousy and about poisoning someone else’s reputation as a result. All with exquisite music (Mozart’s and others’) performed live by musician-actors. I have never seen such a meld of word and music on stage – it was profoundly moving.

Now, 39 years late, I will go and read the reviews, which I always try not to do before I see a play.


In a neat counterpoint, I was standing on Hungerford Bridge looking down at wet passers-by when someone with a much flashier camera looked at me, looked at what I was looking at, took up his position close to me and started taking photos. I fully expect to see one of his published.
 
Black and white in colour 150


Dreary backblip

Edit for self, much later: I traded in the ticket I'd bought for B, who decided at the last moment not to come with me, so I will gain another play from my fury and frustration. Something crucial snapped today and what was being held on course started to run free. I didn't at the time know what the future held but this was the day it became inevitable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.