OMP

By OMP

This weather is for the birds

Colder in Large.

I feel like I'm pretty hardy when it comes to winter weather.  Give me cold and snowy over hot and sweaty any day.  And we do get some cold winter weather in Northern Michigan, especially near the water.  But today, I'll even admit that it was hard to be out for very long.  It was that WIND... combined with the cold temps and snow, it got icy very fast. 

There was open water next to the shore but ice had formed farther out.  That ice had a layer of snow (as it hasn't stopped falling for days).  Then the wicked wind kicked up that snow layer and created a fog-like appearance over the water.  It was cool looking and COLD feeling.  My fingers took over an hour to stop burning.  (I may have stayed out a bit long.)  

Anyway, these birds camped out on the ice.  Commonsense, right?

Extra photo:  Ice on a swimming swans head.  Burrrrr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.