Yorkshire (Day 2)

Well, the Jurys Inn in Bradford gave me a hearty breakfast after a good night’s sleep - maybe not long enough, but for me quality rules over quantity.

The rain disappeared overnight to give a cool but sunny day. I appreciated it, because it meant I could walk around Leeds for a couple of hours in between trains. It reminded me of Glasgow - both cities which grew up in the 19th century.

Northern Rail got me from Bradford to Sheffield (via Leeds) nicely.

Novotel gave me a friendly welcome in Sheffield, and it is much better than any other city centre hotel I’ve used here. However it does feel very weird so soon after staying in the Casablanca one. So much is the same and so much is different.

I enjoyed a 3 course dinner in Café Rouge just 100m from the hotel. It’s solid French bistrot type food. I love it. I recognised the waitress from my last dinner there, which was probably 2 years ago. It’s a good sign if they keep their staff.

Most importantly, Edinburgh beat Sheffield Universities 5:2 in another competitive and physical game. Edinburgh had to dig deep after last night's big effort, and some were out on their feet by the end.

Backblipping again as it's 01:25. The game finished about 00:40 - lots of penalties so the clock stopped a lot.

The Blip is a Henry Moore. I visited the Henry Moore Institute this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.