Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

The Drop Off

So that's Miss C dropped off at the Snowy River Campus of the Victorian School of Leadership. She and 44 other kids are about to have 7 and a bit weeks of amazing, challenging experiences in a very beautiful, if somewhat remote, part of the state.

I am so glad that she got this opportunity after long essay applications and having faced an interview panel. It's a pity that more kids don't get the chance - she was one of only 6 from her school.

I picked this photo as it shows what must happen in this rite of passage; our young folk must learn how to be themselves, without the well meaning bonds or expectations of family and friends. This chance photo is her walking away after the fuss of group and individual photos, immediately before the families left.

I know that she will flourish in this environment, but I think I shall miss her more than I was previously willing to admit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.