Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

Emergency herb blip......

.....ages ago the granddaughter and I did a 'freezing fresh herbs in olive oil' experiment, I don't think I ever reported back......so can I just say it works a treat! Just about to do some coriander (excellent for adding to salsa) and rosemary (top notch when roasting potatoes).....and as I'm otherwise blip bereft today........

PS We also tried it using veg and corn oil but olive oil works much better because it has a higher freezing temperature......it keeps well for weeks and the herbs taste just like fresh!

PPS Should have said.....if you fancy trying it, chop the herbs and pack reasonably tightly into containers (I use a silicone mini muffin 'tin' or ice cube trays) and top up with oil, then freeze. When they're solid I decant them into freezer bags for storage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.