Life Savors

By osuzanna

Celebrating Maggie

Today my husband, our sons, and I attended the Celebration of Life for our dear friend who died on Dec. 29.  It was held at the Library of Congress, where she volunteered and worked. It was a place that she truly loved and revered and is probably the most beautiful building in all of Washington. 

My husband and I spoke, as did some other friends and family members as well as her husband and 3 grown children. The picture that you see on the program was taken by me for a blip for a Mono-Monday “portrait” theme a couple of years ago.  For the celebration, I had a 20 x 20 print made, matted and framed.  

She was a beautiful, smart, witty and loving mother, wife and friend.  I spoke of our 31-year friendship and the shared holidays and vacations, and how we came to start our book club which still meets monthly after 26 years.  My husband spoke from a physicians perspective, noting that she was one of the toughest and most courageous people we would ever know.  It was a very emotional day filled with wonderful stories of her life, and lots of laughter and tears.  I miss her very much. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.