Desk day today at the office, where I met with Heather. In addition to her role as Ed Adviser for Schools, Heather sings in a Rock Choir and is a Soroptimist. I'd never have found this out had I not chatted to Heather and asked to take her photo. So what is a Soroptimist? I didn't know, I had to ask ......

Founded in 1921, Soroptimist International is a global volunteer movement with a network of over 75,000 club members in 122 countries. Advocating for human rights and gender equality, at the heart of Soroptimist International’s advocacy is its work across six UN Centres, where our UN representatives ensure that the voices of women and girls are heard. Our membership work on grassroots projects that help women and girls achieve their individual and collective potential, realise aspirations and have an equal voice in communities worldwide.

So Heather takes time to raise funds, raise awareness and raise hopes for homeless and trafficked women in the Southend area, and helps to support young women living on the streets.

I'm glad I asked, what an inspiring work and what an inspiring colleague. I wanted this particular shot of Heather because this is how she is ....... always.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.