A Winter’s Tale of Six Stations!

(Thanks to Shakespeare and Dickens for the title inspiration!)


A bitterly cold morning with snow flurries didn’t stop me from hanging out of the car window and grabbing one last shot of Ely Cathedral (see extra). With non-refundable/non-amendable train tickets, I had no choice but to travel home today, despite feeling and looking like death warmed up.

Armed with paracetamols and lemon sherberts, M dropped me at Ely station for my first train of the day. In Cambridge it was a quick change onto the train to Liverpool Street Station, then that long slog on the bus round London back to Paddington, before a train to Bath, and a final short train ride to my local station.

Car + train + train + bus + train + train + car = 6 hrs 45 mins of coughing, wheezing and sneezing. Funnily enough, nobody sat anywhere near me on the bus or trains!


(Have just posted a backblip for yesterday as well if you should care to take a look. It’s a very early night for me, so I’ll have a major catchup on your journals tomorrow. In the meantime, thank you again for all your kind comments, stars and hearts.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.