Approaching sunset

Yesterday (Waitangi Day) was a public holiday, and I decided a couple of weeks ago to take Monday as a leave day, and get myself a five day break. Which was great; while on the break. So many emails; I didn't have time to read and respond to them all before the first meeting of the day, and thereafter I was covering absences in the acute unit. I understand what drives people to use their smart phones to access work emails when not at work. I understand what drives them. I will remain staunch on this and do my work when I am at work. If that throws up evidence that what is expected is bigger than a single job, negotiations can begin, one outcome of which will not be me doing work in my own time.

It was both interesting and frustrating to go back into the inpatient ward; one which I last worked in clinically ten years ago. I was also amused to receive a text message late in the afternoon from my Director, asking me if I was still alive, and if I had had lunch. I didn't even think of answering with a single No. I learned a long time ago, that at lunch time you have lunch otherwise you never do. And that's not good for you or the patients.

Home late, and reduced to a photo of the western sky from the deck. Great crepuscular rays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.