Bismarckturm

One of the Bismarck-Towers left in now time Germany is this one, situated in Holzminden on Weser, where my wife and I went to school and where our two pairs of parents still live.
Visiting for my father-in-law’s 95th and my mother-in-law’s 93th birthdays, as well as on the occasion of my mother’s admission to a local nursing home, we spend a few days in this city. -
To remind of the late Chancellor B., shortly after 1900 Germany had 240 of this kind of towers erected spread all over the Reich, some 170 of them are still preserved.
In our European times, they offer quite a peculiar aspect, and hopefully some of them at least a panoramic view (haven’t climbed this one today).
As the extras, the way through the fields, loaded with personal juvenile memories, and the laid restaurant table, ready for our private celebration meal in nearby Höxter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.