Mind Games

It has been another busy, varied and tiring day.

I wouldn't know where to start to tell its story, but possibly with the day's first phone call - at about 90 seconds after 9am. There are some seriously strange people out there...

It ended - unless you count being almost asleep on the sofa - with a very pleasant light "dinner" about 8pm, after my Gaelic class. Soup, bread, cheese and ham is maybe not quite a "dinner" but I was very hungry by then.

I reckon the Gaelic class was the main highlight, although there were several. It was the usual mixture of pain and laughter, with a wee sense of survival achievement at the end.  

The Blip is a book I pounced on quickly in the library last week without giving it much thought - good for reading on all those train journeys, I decided.

It was only when I got started that I remembered - consciously at least - that it's set in Lewis and I'll be spending a weekend there next month. Because of the setting in a strong Gaelic speaking part of the country, the language features a lot. Some of the original Chess Men are on display in the new museum in Stornoway - one of the places I want to visit.

Strange how the mind works sometimes. Or is it just mine?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.