horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

FTP

Anyone walking past the house would have (rightly) pondered what on earth was making the noise coming from the garage tonight. That would've been me into the last 5 minutes of a full gas effort to recalibrate my Functional Threshold Power. Recently my heart rate hasn't been getting up as high as it should have been for the power I was supposedly putting out on the turbo. I thought the heart rate strap might have been loose; then that the battery might have been dying; then that the tensioner on the turbo has slipped off a bit.... It says a lot that my last consideration was that, well, I might have just got a bit fitter, and getting back to commuting, while slowly, firmly in the 'endurance' zone, could have helped with a quicker than usual shift.

Will wait for the coach to analyse the results, but I presume the sessions are going to get harder for a while as my target power moves up a bit. Very much onwards and upwards.

Legs hurt though.

And I'm planning on taking the bike to work tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.