Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Silver Y Moth

Yesterday was a run out of patience day, even before I ran out of time. It had been a while since Blipfoto has run slow, which I admit, was the final straw that took me by surprise. They do a superb job at keeping all our journals together, so it's not a complaint. I'm sure the Blip staff are having more headaches than I am.

This week has been full of incidents, annoyances and as happens periodically, just when life runs that little bit smoother, it all tips up and needs reorganising. Today, finally everything has started to slot back in place. I'm so glad it's Friday.

Peter was due to leave hospital this evening and should by now be back in his home. They have arranged full care for a week so I just checked the house, put some food in the fridge and will visit him tomorrow. I picked up Lady D this evening, back for a visit from Uni. It's good to have her back again.
Yes, this is a Silver Y moth.. I don't think it's the same as yesterdays but flew into the house when I opened the door a little earlier. It's chillier tonight and it happily crawled onto this flower to be photographed.

The caterpillars of this lovely grey brown moth, Autographa gamma, are considered pests,and found in much of Europe, Asia, and northern Africa. Although in it's southern ranges it lives and breed all year round, they are migrant to the northern countries and die off as the frosts get harder. They are polyphagous, which means they eat a vast range of foods. In fact, they are known to infest over 200 species of plants most of which are cultivated by man for food. Economically they can cause a great deal of damage to a wide variety of crops especially beet species, including Sugar Beet. for which the caterpillars are also known as Beetworms.

Enjoy moth, number 2, whilst I go and have some time with Lady D! :)




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.