Harvey’s Rest

This afternoon on the anniversary of my step father in law’s death, we went out to sea to lay him at rest. This is a photo of his daughter Vickie, my husband, and my mother-in-law, Bev. God granted us a absolutely gorgeous day to have the ceremony. The boat went out from John’s Pass. The sky was a vibrant blue, the seas are calm and the air was warm. My husband shared some scripture, a poem and gave a toast. We all shared some smiles and laughter as other shared fond memories. It was Harvey’s wish to be buried at sea.

Harvey’s Rest:
When my sailing days are over, and I sail the seas no more, I shall build myself a refuge by the ocean’s murmuring shore. As I watch the foaming breakers when the tide comes rushing in, I will contemplate my life time with its virtues, and it’s sins.
Where the azure of the heavens meet the undulating Blue, where the sweeping, soaring seagull fliers it’s endless quest for food. It is there that I would rest, when my work on earth is done. At the endless blue horizon neath the crimson , setting sun.
By DR Block

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.