Mining

A double exposure of the Industrial Estate in my village, there was a coal mine here in 1886 and a lead mine which had previously been mined and quarried by the Romans. Some Bronze age cists have been discovered in the area and Hadrians Wall runs about a mile NE of the village where Chesters Roman fort is located.
We have a lovely Church dedicated to Saint John of Beverley a local hermit and supposed worker of miracles. There was a medieval church but it was rebuilt and later enlarged, it's very elegant St John Lee  with a tower and spire that can be seen for miles around. I sang in the choir here when I was a little girl and many times sang solo accompanied by the big church organ to a full congregation, the other child they always asked to sing solo, was a boy called Andrew, he had a voice like an angel.

I Love where I live but this year when my house sells I'll be leaving this little village that I know so well and finding somewhere else to call home. 

I wonder where that will be.

If it wasn't for a horrible migraine that started in the early hours of the morning and lasted till lunchtime, I was beginning to feel a little better from the lurgie i've had over the last few days. By tomorrow I think I'll be on the mend. I hope so, I've got work to do.


Thank you for all of the hearts and stars on yesterdays blip you put me on the popular page, I wasn't expecting that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.