An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Riverbank

I've been yearning for a simple shot for a while; colourful and kaleidoscopic Fun Fair pictures, very noisy and exhilarating Carnivals, psychotic fisheye shots underneath railway bridges....

So went out with a very good basic landscape lens, not too wide, but fast and very sharp. Got loads of trees in mist and all that but when I saw this and got what I wanted, I knew it was THE one. Overexposure in mist is a must, else it turns out a mushy grey, go for about 2/3rds stop over.

For some it may be too minimalist and arty it sure is - and that is just what the doctor ordered!

I used to write - and perform poetry, often inspired by one of my photos. This image has had me write the first in a long while

Subtle colours and lace-like cobwebs

This chilly mist
Descendant,
Like being in a large white tent.

Cold - and still
And slow; subtleties
Muted and flat - and all that.

Peeking through
this invisibility cloak
my spirit
catches me out.

Lurking, playing games
On this naked morn
I feel special
- and brand-new born.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.